The Faculty secures more than $33 million in NHMRC Ideas Grants

The Faculty secures more than $33 million in NHMRC Ideas Grants

December 15, 2022

Monash Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences researchers have been awarded more than $33 million across 30 projects under the NHMRC Ideas Grant scheme.

In total, the university received more than $41 million for 37 projects – the most of any Australian university for the third year running.

Federal Minister for Health and Aged Care, the Hon Mark Butler MP, announced the grants as part of $241 million in funding for 232 research projects to help better understand the wide range of health and medical issues facing Australians.

The Ideas grant scheme is designed to support innovative research projects addressing a specific question and to provide special opportunities for early and mid-career researchers.

Monash projects to receive funding include understanding non-genetic inheritance in health and disease; prevention of nephron deficiency in premature offspring; uncovering the brain-lung communication pathway as a new way to improve stroke outcome; and transforming the management of perinatal depression with precision medicine to improve outcomes for women and children.

Congratulations to all of our researchers who have secured funding in this program.

Dr Gonzalo del Monte Nieto – Investigating the morphological and molecular origins of non-compacting cardiomyopathy.

Associate Professor Michael Gantier – Therapeutic targeting of TLR7 in autoimmunity

Associate Professor Margaret Hibbs – Dysregulated lymphatic vasculature in the pathogenesis of bronchopulmonary dysplasia

Associate Professor Mireille Lahoud – Analyzes regulatory mechanisms controlling antigen processing and presentation in dendritic cells

Associate Professor Patrick Western – Understanding non-genetic inheritance in health and disease

Dr. Pouya Faridi – Establishing “effective vaccine targets” for breast cancer immunotherapy

Dr. Adam Rose – Targeting hepatic amino acid transport in the fight against cardiometabolic disease

Professor Helen Abud – Revealing tumor plasticity through parallels with tissue regeneration

Associate Professor Clare Anderson – Sleep disorder and Alzheimer’s disease pathology – Exploring mechanisms through acoustic stimulation of slow wave sleep

Professor John Bertram – Prevention of nephron deficiency in premature offspring

Dr Kelly Crossley – Reducing the burden of respiratory distress after cesarean delivery

Dr David Gonsalvez – Wnt Signaling in Oligodendroglia: The Missing Link in MS Neuroinflammation

Professor Roger Pocock – Characterization of the germline regulatory landscape

Dr Fiona Cousins ​​- Harnessing the protective effects of interferon epsilon as a treatment for endometriosis

Associate Professor Connie Wong – Uncovering the brain-lung communication pathway as a new way to improve stroke outcome

Assistant Professor Michelle Tate – Targeting pyroptosis to reduce the severity of influenza virus infections

Professor Zane Andrews – Neural Metabolic Memory of Dietary Restriction Influences Weight Gain

Professor Stephen Turner – PRC-1 regulation of effector and memory responses of mature CD8+ T cells

Professor Chrishan Samuel – Development of bone marrow-derived stromal cells to express antifibrotic cargo as a treatment for chronic kidney disease

Dr. Omer Gilan – Understanding and targeting self-renewal in aggressive blood cancers

Professor Ana Traven – Harnessing Metabolism to Improve Outcomes in Deadly Fungal Infections

Associate Professor Andrew Ellisdon – Molecular mechanisms underlying NF1 dysfunction in tumor growth and disease

Associate Professor Jane Bourke – Blocking harmful lung damage during acute exacerbations of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) caused by infections

Professor Merlin Thomas – Development of junction-switching oligonucleotides for the treatment of kidney disease

Dr. Nafiseh Atapour – Thalamic plasticity after cortical damage: restoration of vision

Associate Professor Gregory Moseley – Viral Modulation of the Host Cell: The STAT3 Interface

Associate Professor Chen Davidovich – RNA-mediated regulation of chromatin compaction in development and disease

Associate Professor Mikael Martino – Modified amphiregulin: A new growth factor to support tissue regeneration

Professor Megan Galbally – Transforming the management of perinatal depression using precision medicine to improve outcomes for women and children

Dr Matthew Page – New methods to improve reporting and peer review of systematic reviews of health evidence

A full list of recipients can be found here.

About Monash University

Monash University is Australia’s largest university with over 80,000 students. In the 60 years since its founding, it has built a reputation for world-leading high-impact research, quality teaching and inspiring innovation.

With four campuses in Australia and a presence in Malaysia, China, India, Indonesia and Italy, it is one of Australia’s most internationalized universities.

As a leading international medical research university with the largest medical faculty in Australia and integration with Australia’s leading teaching hospitals, we are consistently ranked in the top 50 universities worldwide for clinical, preclinical and health sciences.

For more news, visit Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences or Monash University.


Email: [email protected]

#Faculty #secures #million #NHMRC #Ideas #Grants

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.